The University Library

I’m at Uni! As of Jan 1st my institute joined the University of Cambridge. I had an honorary contract with them before, so not much has changed, but it made me swagger a bit as I walked across town to the University Library.

 The library is a monstrous Stalinist edifice, a bit like the old Bankside power station (now the Tate Modern). And the method of obtaining books is similarly 1930s. A very few are put out on shelves for us proles to stroll among, but not organized in any way that makes them easy to browse — generally they are shelved according to (I shit you not) height. In order to find a particular book you need to trace the full ~10 digit reference number. Most of the poetry books I actually want to read are even harder to get – they need to be requested from the stacks, and most of them I’m not allowed to borrow. Instead I need to sit and read them in the West Room, then hand them back.

 Fortunately poetry books are short, so today for the first time I went through this procedure with Sophie Hannah’s Pessimism for Beginners. I’ve often heard her praised as funny and incisive, and she’s a woman of about my own age who writes mostly formalist poetry, so I was keen to try it. And on the whole I liked it – it was technically brilliant, almost never deviating from true rhyme (which is tricky in English), and often funny and true. But I came away a bit disappointed at how one-note it seemed, since almost all of the poems were about her crap relationships with men. I’ll definitely read more of hers when I can spare an hour in the reading room, but I’m hoping they will be more varied in subject matter.

 Wendy Cope has a lot of poems about bad relationships too. I can’t decide whether this is good, because the funny formalist female poets are leaving a large niche for me to inhabit, or bad because relationship failure is the only subject matter which will gain women an audience. I don’t want to have to dump my husband just to get material. 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “The University Library

  1. And they have magazines – PN Review, etc.

  2. True; and one day I will allow myself enough time to find them and read some. It’s frustrating the hours are so short.

  3. Susan McLean

    It’s hard to be funny about people behaving well and getting along. Fortunately, life is full of challenges, even for those who are not unhappy in their relationships.

Leave a comment